top of page

Horticulture Portfolio & My Fittonia(Nerve Plant)

Updated: Jan 16, 2021


Introduction of Fittonia

Fittonia is tropical plant and is also known as a 'nerve plant' because of colorful veining on leaves. A genus of flowering plants in the acanthus family Acanthaceae, native to tropical rainforest in South America, mainly Peru.

The main property is that fittonia bears lush green leaves with accented veins of white to deep pink and have a short fuzz covering their stems.

Fittonia has very meaningful symbolism which is rational wisdom. they might not be gorgeous, and very small, but they give us fresh and refined. They are silently growing and thrive, never think to catch others' attention on purpose. That is why fittonia characterizes rational wisdom.





Fittonia Type

The fittonia can be divided into two most common types which are fittonia argyroneura and fittonia albivenis. Deeply speak, there are total 24 varieties for fittonia. But we can generally classify into two categories based on the color of veins which are red fittonia and white fittonia.


  • White Fittonia

White fittonia does not mean they are white--leaves are white, flower are white. it does only mean the vein is white, but their leaves may be green, dark green, white, slight yellow. There are several representation of the varieties of white fittonia.



Angel Snow

Fittonia ‘Angel Snow’ is a beautiful petite houseplant with rich green leaves. It also sports prominent white veins and splotches on edges.





White Anne

Fittonia 'White Anne' pleasant fittonia variety will definitely lift your mood with its lively beauty. The leaves have more white hue than green, which makes it perfect for small and dark spaces.






Superba

Fittonia 'Superba' produces large leaves with beautiful variegation in white veins.





  • Red Fittonia

It is same as white fittonia which does not mean the entire leaves are red, it only means the veins are red or pink. Normally, it has dark green leaves. it may bloom to yellow. There are several representation of the varieties of red fittonia.



Ruby Red

Fittonia 'Ruby Red' compact plant shows off dark green leaves beautifully variegated with deep red veins








Pink Star


Fittonia ‘Pink Star’ is a special variety featuring small wavy leaves with broad pink veins that provide the entire plant quite a unique look.








Mini Red Vein

Fittonia ‘Mini Red Vein’ produces beautiful small green leaves designed in deep red-pink veins. Pair it with light foliaged plants for an awesome looking plant collection.






Fittonia Grow & Care

Fittonia is one of the most popular indoor plants which it defiantly does not like direct light as most indoor plans do. And even though it has a lot of varieties, the condition of grows is same. Here are some instructions of caring fittonia:


  • Water

The fittonia just love water, if you are going to have your own fittonia, you will find how thirsty it is. even though, they love water not like drying out, but it does not mean they like to be wet all the time. Thus it can be said keep the fittonia appropriately moist is a challenge. Here is my suggestion from my experience: I normally check the soil moisture by looking the soil color and touching the top soil, if the soil is going to be 'white' color(the color will change if soil is very dry) or the top soil is a little a little moist, it means you can water it.


  • Light

As a tropical plant that naturally grows in bright shade of tropical forests. Fittonia loves the indirect bright to medium light instead of direct light.


  • Fertilizer

During the growing season such as in the summer. Fittonia need to be feed weekly with a weak does of liquid fertilizer formulated for tropical plants.


  • Soil

It recommend to us mixed soil. A great soil mix comprises of equal parts of course sand, peat and potting soil. But do not let the soil become waterlogged, it will run rampant and roots of fittonias will rot.


  • Pruning

Nerve plant grows quickly in the right conditions, and if the stems grow leggy, pinching off the tips will keep the growth full and bushy when its flower blooms.



My Fittonia

As Gabby Santiago who is horticulture lead ate Rooted NYC “Nerve plants are definitely one of the most unique and beautiful plants out there, in my opinion”, which I can not agree more, I love fittonia plan. But to be honest, it was not attract to me at all at the beginning. I was into money plants or to be say any hanging plats I am just crazy about, so when I was buying hanging plants online, I got the fittonia just for discount. But when I received the fittonia, I have fallen love in it at first glance. What gorgeous plant is, and the moment you touch its leaves, your hand doesn’t move at all, it sounds kind of magic, but that is what I feel. I love touching fittonia’s leaves because they tell you everything about the situation of its growing. You can know whether they are okay or not they needs water or not or the place you put fittonia right or not just by touching the leaves.

I bought a few different types of fittonia after that, cuz I found the light condition of my room is just perfect for fittonia growing -- middle to low light. I would like to put them on my desktop, book shelf, and bathroom. I normally prefer putting them in low light(most of time, middle light in the morning),I usually water them when I see the top of soil almost dry when I give them enough water.



My first "Angel Snow" fittonia got for discount, it grows very well for these two months

This is my second pot of fittonia.

There are three varieties of fittonia contain in this pot which are "White Anne", "Angel Snow", and "Red Anne", I transform to the stoneware flower pot where I mix peat moss soil and Perlite.






This is my third pot of fittonia which consist of two types of fittonia which are "Red" and "Pink Clouds" and I got it last month, and it is growing new small leaves.










Fittonia is definitely my favorite plant, I will get more different various of fittonia in the future.

28 views0 comments
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page